Welcome to Harris County Emergency Services District No. 6

What is an ESD?

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a local government unit created by voters of an area to fund fire protection, emergency medical services, or both. More than 300 districts are operating in Texas, and more are added at almost every uniform election date.

State Statute Regulating ESD Formation and Authority


Harris County Emergency Services District No. 6 was authorized by Harris County Commissioner’s Court and ratified by the voters in an election held February 2, 2002, in accordance with V.T.C.A., Health and Safety Code Chapter 775. It was created to provide emergency medical services for unincorporated areas of Northshore in East Harris County. It is generally bounded by Greens Bayou, Highway 90, Beltway 8 and the Houston Ship Channel.

Until 2022 the district contracted with North Channel Emergency Services to provide emergency services. North Channel Emergency Services Association had been providing emergency services in the Northshore area since 1979. In June, 2022, the district assumed those responsibilities and now operates as North Channel EMS.

The district is governed by five elected commissioners who serve four year, staggered terms. It is supported by property and sales taxes, as well as insurance reimbursements and fees for services.

District Map

(Click Here For PDF Version)

District Commissioners

The District is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of five (5) elected members, who manage and supervise all affairs of the District. Each District Commissioner is elected to serve a staggered four (4) year term. The District’s elections are held on the first Saturday of May in even numbered years. Commissioners continue to serve from the end of their term until they are either re-elected or replaced. To serve as a commissioner a person must be at least 18 years of age and a resident of the District.

The District’s current Commissioners are as follows:

  • Danny Naramore, President, Term Expires: 12/31/2027
  • Roger Hamilton, Vice-President, Term Expires: 12/31/2027
  • Margie Buentello, Secretary, Term Expires: 12/31/2025
  • Vinh Lam, Term Expires: 12/31/2027
  • Mickey W. Berguin, Asst. Secretary, Term Expires: 12/31/2025